Tags

, , , , , ,

40x40-1

 

As part of my fun 40×40 Flower Project, I planted Borage seeds in late Spring this year.  I’ve read that borage helps strawberry plants, so I decided to give it a shot.

It’s supposed to make a good buddy for all kinds of plants, so I went a little bit crazy sowing seeds.  Honestly, I wasn’t sure if they’d all sprout up because I’ve never grown them before.

40x40-11

 

They grew so fast!  Sooon the plants had broad, slightly prickly leaves and tight bundles of glittery white buds crowning the tops.

Then, like dainty little garden fairies the flowers sprung to life!  As the stems reached out from the fuzzy cluster, it looked like pink and purple fairy wings taking flight.

At first the plants were quite compact, but they grew taller and taller.

 

40x40-28377

 

 

The sheer number of blossoms each plant produces is spectacular!  They can be used for cut flowers and will bounce right back with more very quickly, too.

40x40-229

 

Here they are in my veggie garden, competing with the neighboring oregano’s height.  It is known to deter tomato hornworms and cabbage worms, so they have become a beautiful part of my natural pest control strategy.

I love to think of them as pretty helpful fairies in my edible garden.

BONUS: Borage is an edible plant, too!

