Tags

, , , , , , , ,

kim44782601909200

I’m not one whom really believes in “New Year’s Resolutions”.  I think it can get a bit cliche, pushed by the media and over-marketed. That being said; I do value the beginning of each year.  And I do my best to work in harmony with it to create new beginnings in my own my life. I am a firm believer in initiating something NEW in order to let something else — something that’s no longer serving me– go…

So, somewhere in the social-media-chaos of my life, I had discovered a promotion for a free webinar being offered from Hay House Publishing.  I came across it last year and noticed that all of my favorite authors would be contributing to this ultimate webinar. So, I registered and forgot about it.

Then I got the It’s Time! email. I was so excited! On the very first day of the webinar, which began on January 11th, I listened to the words of  this amazingly wonderful woman, Dr. Christiane Northrup.  She’s been a long-time idol of mine; ever since I first read ‘Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom‘ years ago.  As she spoke, she mentioned a video she had seen on Youtube from the Flylady about how to shine your sink.

It was so random and I certainly was not expecting this kind of advice from her.  Never the less, I was intrigued.  Of course, I had to check that video out!

After watching the short little video, I got out my bottle of bleach and followed all of dear sweet Flylady’s instructions.  I shined that sink. Just to see what would happen.

It looked so shiny and new, I decided I would take Flylady up on her challenge… You know, to create this habit.  [I could stand to create some good habits in my life.  Who couldn’t?!]  I didn’t particularly have a dirty sink and I kept up with doing the dishes, but what the heck?!  I was ready to make this part of my home truly shine.  Everyday.

I know I’m only a few days in, but WOW!  I love this new focal point in my kitchen.  It’s becoming ritualistic for me to go through the process of polishing it up.  I do it every night before I go to bed.  I wonder if it has been helping me sleep better.  The great thing about doing it at night is the joy of waking up to a dirty-dish-free, sparkling clean sink!  It’s like therapy for me; a busy Mom who is often rushing kids out the door to catch the school bus in the morning.  I. Am. Loving. It.

P.S.  I just thought I’d mention that I am in no way affiliated with the lovely ladies I have mentioned in this post.  I just wanted to share my experience with you and they are part of that experience. 😉

