Tags

, , , , , , , ,

kim8875959

The highlight of my first summer in upstate New York was, without a doubt, my pink Dahlias.  They attracted big beautiful butterflies.  I had a steady flow of fresh cut flowers in my home, thanks to it’s re-blooming prowess.   And they bloomed profusely, from early June to late October, in my garden, even surviving a couple of light frosts with not a hint of discord.  Yep–This flowering beauty is a keeper!

But, once those hard frosts started rolling in, my beautiful dahlia plant began withering away.  The foliage blackened and the flowers drooped.  I was sad to see it go.

kim55463526610

I did a bit of research online and realized that the dahlia tubers don’t hold up over the winter very well here in the Northeast.  So if I wanted to have these dahlias in my garden next year, then digging them up and storing them indoors while the harsh winter takes it’s toll outside, seemed to be my only option.  So that’s what I did.

kim33287718211

I dug them up!  

kim338278788000

Now I had this decent sized mass of tubers.  I was afraid to divide them or trim the ‘rat tails’ ( a.k.a. the long skinny roots)…

That was purely my fear of damaging something in the process.

kim46277362819928

But I did hose them off to clean them up a little.  I didn’t realize until after the fact, that in all of the videos I had watched on YouTube about storing dahlia tubers, no one had cleaned them off first.  So, I am really hoping this doesn’t have an adverse affect!

Once I had given them time to dry out in the sun for a couple of hours, I wrapped the whole bunch in newspaper and found a nice clear space on a metal rack in my basement.  There they should rest peacefully throughout the winter, free of any dramatic temperature changes.  (It stays about 40-50 degrees F down there.)  Now all that is left to do is cross my fingers and wait until spring when I can plant them again.  And spring can’t come soon enough!

